The Watershed Approach to protecting water resources

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency has produced a four-part video (YouTube) series highlighting Minnesota’s watershed approach to restore and protect water resources. Each small watershed is part of the more extensive watershed for a larger stream or lake in the vicinity. These larger watersheds are in turn part of even larger drainage networks, and so on. The largest-scale watershed is called a basin. Minnesota has 10 basins, some of which include portions of neighboring states or Canada.

As an example, the boundaries of the Coon Creek and the Rice Creek Watershed Districts are based on the land areas where precipitation collects into the creeks as they flow to the Mississippi River Basin. Watershed Districts and Watershed Management Organizations are the local agencies that implement the protection of water within their watershed.

Part 1 – What is a watershed? (3:35)

Part 2 – How Minnesota got to where we are (2:20)

Part 3 – A watershed approach (4:05)

During a 10-year cycle, each of the state’s 81 major watersheds (10 each year) is evaluated with priorities and goals for improvement established, and actions designed to restore or protect water quality.

Part 4 – Getting involved in the process (5:35)

Learn more about Minnesota’s Watershed Approach and why each resident and business within their watershed must do their part to restore and protect their local water resource. Residents in the Rum River watershed can learn more about the Watershed Restoration and Protection Project (WRAPP) being developed by the Anoka Conservation District by calling the District at 763-434-2030.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress